The Capital Area Regional Plan Commission (CARPC) was created in May 2007.

​The Commission is composed of thirteen Commissioners appointed by the Mayor of the City of Madison (4), the Dane County Executive (3), the Dane County Cities and Villages Association (3), and the Dane County Towns Association (3).

The function of the Commission is to serve as the regional planning and areawide water quality management planning entity for the Dane County region, consistent with §66.0309, Wis. Stats. and state Administrative Code NR 121.
​The Commission is charged with the duty of preparing and adopting a master plan for the physical development of the region, and maintaining a continuing areawide water quality management planning process in order to manage, protect, and enhance the water resources of the region, including consideration of the relationship of water quality to land and water resources and uses.Link to CARPC website: